Heritage Chorale Leaders

Heritage Chorale is currently seeking a new Artistic Director. Please click here for a full description of the position and information on how to apply.  


Maurice Boyer, artistic director of Heritage Chorale, is assistant professor of music at Concordia University, River Forest, Illinois, where he directs the Concordia University Chamber Orchestra and Women's Ensemble.

Mr. Boyer received his doctor of musical arts degree in orchestral conducting from the University of Maryland, College Park. He holds a master’s degree in choral conducting and a bachelor’s degree in sacred music from Westminster Choir College of Rider University, Princeton, New Jersey. His principal conducting teachers have been James Ross, Kenneth Kiesler, Joseph Flummerfelt, and Andrew Megill. Although born in the United States, Boyer began his musical training (piano, voice, and solfège) in Aix-en-Provence, France, where he lived until the age of 18.

Boyer was the founder of the Maryland Sinfonietta and the Ashgrove Ensemble. He has been chorus master of the New Jersey State Opera and has served as music director in several churches. In 2007, he participated in the second International Academy of Orchestral Conducting in Paris and Vendôme, France, conducting the Ensemble Orchestral de Paris (EOP) in rehearsal and performance. In spring 2008, he was assistant conductor for John Nelson, music director of the EOP, for three series of concerts in France and the United States.

    Tehra Hiolski has served as accompanist for Heritage Chorale since 1990. She teaches general music in Oak Park's elementary school district and accompanies many area musicians in both recital and competition. She taught piano privately for 16 years and has also worked with the Merit music program in Chicago. A native of Oak Park, she received a bachelor’s degree in music education from Michigan State University and a master’s degree in music education from VanderCook College in Chicago.
    Heritage Chorale Board of Directors

Geoff Roupas, President
Mary Rogan, Vice President
Lillian Hohmann, Secretary
Beth Zeiter, Treasurer

Barbara Hofmaier
Lorene Lambert
Richard Lambert
Dick Martens
Vic Scodius
Suzanne Walsh
Donna Weaver