Wen Chin Liu-Young

Content copyright 2024. Heritage Chorale. All rights reserved.

Tehra Hiolski

Wen Chin began her career as a music educator in 2005 at the Young Choral Academy in Malaysia, where she served as choir director, director of musicals, pianist, and vocal tutor. As a graduate assistant at Bowling Green State University, she conducted the small women's ensemble Fermatas for two years. As music director, she brought a group of twenty-two Saint Ursula Academy choir members to perform at Carnegie Hall, and she prepared the entire Saint Ursula Academy choir to sing Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony with 1,000 singers and the Toledo Symphony Orchestra at Toledo’s Huntington Center. During the summers of 2017–2019, she was guest conductor for the Malaysia Institute of Arts choruses in performances that included Haydn’s Missa Brevis Sancti Joannis de Deo and Vivaldi’s Gloria. Wen Chin has also frequently led choral workshops and served as juror for choral competitions in Malaysia.

Wen Chin has completed work for the doctor of musical arts degree in choral conducting and pedagogy at the University of Iowa with Drs. Timothy Stalter and David Puderbaugh and will graduate in May 2024. She now lives in Chicago, serving as music supervisor at Project 88 Music Academy in Berwyn, choir director of Take Note ensemble in Lisle, and music coordinator at Lutheran Church of the Cross in Arlington Heights. She began her work as Heritage Chorale’s artistic director in fall 2022.

Wen Chin Liu-Young began her music education in her native Malaysia with piano lessons at the age of seven. She graduated as a piano major from University College Sedaya International in 2008 with a bachelor’s degree in classical music (with honors). She obtained her Trinity College Piano Licentiate in Music Diploma and Trinity Guildhalls Vocal Performance Certificate, both with distinction. In 2009, she came to the United States to pursue her master’s degree in choral conducting at Bowling Green State University, graduating in 2011. 

Wen Chin is an active performer. She has been a chorister since 2005 with several choirs that have won international choral competitions throughout Asia. In 2009, she was one of six back-up singers for Sarah Brightman’s concert tour in Malaysia. She has sung with Bach Festival Malaysia, performing the Mass in B Minor, the St. Matthew Passion, and several cantatas. Most recently, she sang in Canticum Novum’s recording project on the music of Horatio Parker and performed with the University of Iowa’s Kantorei in 2017–2020. With the Downers Grove Choral Society (Illinois), she served as the collaborative pianist in the 2021–2022 season.

Heritage Chorale Board of Directors

Sarah Campbell, President
Arif Negiz, Vice President
Barbara Hofmaier, Secretary
Mary Rogan, Treasurer

Kurt Amolsch

Cathy Bachman

Nancy Ball

Heather Comiskey

Tim Divis

Rebecca McLane

Heritage Chorale Leaders

Tehra Hiolski has served as accompanist for Heritage Chorale since 1990. She teaches general music in Oak Park's elementary school district and accompanies many area musicians in both recital and competition. She taught piano privately for 16 years and has also worked with the Merit music program in Chicago. A native of Oak Park, she received a bachelor’s degree in music education from Michigan State University and a master’s degree in music education from VanderCook College in Chicago.